Video: Duke Special to open solo tour in Armagh

One of Northern Ireland’s leading musicians Duke Special will open his solo tour in Armagh next week [Thurs, jan 15]

Duke is starting the New Year with a solo tour covering every corner of the country in January & February, before introducing his fans to his 4th studio album and 10th release ‘Look Out Machines!’, which is due out on 6 April.

Duke Special

Duke Special

He has just released the first single from the album, ‘Elephant Graveyard’ and the animated video is now live at http://youtu.be/B9Y3Oyw-Xyk

The new record was written with collaborators including Iain Archer, Phil Wilkinson, Gary Clark and Boo Hewerdine and was recorded at Echo Zoo studios in the English seaside town of Eastbourne. For this album, Duke teamed up with Pledge Music for a second time to help bring it to life. Back in 2009, Duke Special was one of the first artists to embark upon a Pledge Campaign, raising money for his ambitious “Stage, Book and Silver Screen” project.

Within a very quick time the new Pledge campaign reached 100% of its target and with still some weeks left to go it’s already at 116%.

The only way to get your hands on ‘Look Out Machines!’ before its official release and ahead of the tour is by pledging for the Empire CD, DVD & New Album Box. The box set includes 2CD’s, 1 DVD & extras; CD1 is ‘Look Out Machines!’ and CD 2 & the DVD contain the best songs performed live at Duke’s 5 nights at the Belfast Empire in 2013; this could be yours by January 15th! See www.pledgemusic.com/projects/dukespecial for more details.

Solo Tour

Thursday 15th January Market Place Theatre, Armagh - www.marketplacearmagh.com

Friday 16th January The Glens Centre, Manorhamilton, Leitrim - www.theglenscentre.com

Saturday 17th January Hawk’s Well Theatre, Sligo - www.hawkswell.com

Thursday 22nd January Coughlan’s, Cork - www.coughlans.ie

Friday 23rd January De Barras, Clonakilty, Cork - www.debarra.ie

Saturday 24th January Garter Lane Arts Theatre, Waterford - www.garterlane.ie

Thursday 29th January Arts Centre, Wexford - www.wexfordartscentre.ie

Friday 30th January Solstice Arts Centre, Navan, Meath - www.solsticeartscentre.com

Saturday 31st January Iontas Theatre, Castleblaney, Monaghan - www.iontascastleblayney.ie

Thursday 5th February McGrory’s, Culdaff, Donegal - www.mcgrorys.ie

Friday 6th February Old Courthouse, Antrim - www.antrim.gov.uk/oldcourthouse

Saturday 7th February Downs Arts Centre, Downpatrick, Down - www.downartscentre.com

Thursday 12th February Cunninghams, Kildare - www.cunninghamskildare.com/cms

Friday 13th February The Set Theatre, Kilkenny - www.set.ie

Saturday 14th February The Courthouse Arts Centre, Tinahely, Wicklow -www.courthousearts.ie

Thursday 19th February Boyles of Slane, Meath - www.boylesofslane.com

Friday 20th February Spirit Store, Dundalk, Louth -www.spiritstore.ie

Saturday 21st February The Music Store @ Donaghy’s, Drogheda - http://www.donaghysbar.ie/

Thursday 26th February Sol Y Sombra, Killorglin, Kerry - www.solysombra.ie

Friday 27th February Roisin Dubh, Galway - www.roisindubh.net

Saturday 28th February Dolans (upstairs), Limerick - www.dolans.ie

Full band Shows

Friday 15 May 2015 Mandela Hall, Belfast http://www.mandelahall.com/node/321

Saturday 16 May 2015 Vicar Street, Dublin www.vicarstreet.ie

Supporting Duke on the solo tour will be VerseChorusVerse (Jan 15-17), SOAK (Jan 22-24, 29-31 & Feb 5-7) and Rams Pocket Radio (Feb 12th -14th, 19-21st & 26th-28th Feb)