Tyrone bow out at first hurdle in Vocational Schools All-Ireland Championship

All-Ireland Vocational Schools champions Tyrone, BELOW, bowed out at the first hurdle of this season's competition when Monaghan scored a sensational upset victory at Threemilehouse on Tuesday.

Christopher McGuinness converted a first half Monaghan penalty but with Jamie Donnelly, Paddy McNeice and Stephen McAleer all on target it was Tyrone who led 0-6 to 1-1 at the break.

McNeice and Aussie Rules target Kyle Coney stretched Tyrone's lead in the third quarter but with eight minutes to go McGuinness converted another penalty after Tyrone keeper Fergal O'Neill was sent off for bringing down substitute Colin Walsh.

Points from McNeice and Donnelly appeared to steady the ship for the holders and when the latter fired in a 58th minute goal Tyrone led by five.

Monaghan though refused to accept defeat and they came straight down the field from the next kick out for Pete Dooney to blast to the net. Tyrone were holding on but deep into injury time McGuninness's third goal of the afternoon sealed a shock victory for Hugo Clerkin's side.

Tyrone – Fergal O'Neill, Mark Faloon, Kevin Corr, Patrick McCann, Sean McNally, Brian Og O'Rourke, Sean Hagan, Peter Devlin, Charlie Cochran, Peter Mallon, Jamie Donnelly, Stephen Grimes, Paddy McNeice, Darren Carson, Kyle Coney. Subs – Stephen McAleer for Carson, Paul McLaughlin for Mallon, Pierce McGirr for Faloon. Scorers – Jamie Donnelly 1-3, Paddy McNeice 0-3, Stephen McAleer 0-2, Kyle Coney 0-1, Kevin Corr 0-1

Monaghan – Conal McKenna, Ciaran Smyth, Chris Farrell, Sam Dooney, Matthew O'Reilly, Declan Farrell, Shane Coyle, Mark Connolly, Kieran Duffy, Kevin Mooney, Pete Dooney, Shane Burke, Christopher McGuinness, Philip O'Callaghan, Turlough Fitzsimmons. Subs – Declan McQuaid for Coyle, Damian Malone for Duffy, James McCarron for O'Callaghan, Colin Walsh for Burke. Scorers – Christopher McGuinness 3-1, Pete Dooney 1-0, Philip O'Callaghan 0-1

Referee – Brendan Gorman, Armagh

Holy Trinity bid to reach the semi finals of the Markey Cup when they lock horns with Magh Ene College, Bundoran at St.Patricks Park Clogher today, 11.30am. Declan O'Neill's side are unbeaten and, with nine of last season's side on board, have plenty of room for optimism. Kyle Coney, Peter Devlin, Sean Hagan, Fergal O'Neill, Paul McLaughlin and Oisin Murphy were all members of the Tyrone squad and they should prove a mite too strong for their Donegal opponents.