GAA: Five players exit Tyrone squad

Joe McMahon in action for Tyrone
Joe McMahon in action for Tyrone

Reports are circulating that Mickey Harte has cut five players from his squad ahead of Tyrone’s National League campaign.

There are suggestions that Joe McMahon, Dermot Carlin, Mark Donnelly, Plunkett Kane and Kyle Coney have all exited the squad ahead of Saturday’s clash with Monaghan.

McMahon, Coney and Kane had all been withdrawn from the Tyrone team at half time in last weekend’s McKenna Cup final with Cavan, while Donnelly was replaced in the second half.

Carlin had yet to feature this season but he had been one of the few remaining links between the current panel and the 2003 All Ireland winning Tyrone side.