TYRONE JFC: Rock roll on while Owen Roes defeat Drumragh

Aidan McGarrity hit 0-6 for Rock in their Junior Championship victory.
Aidan McGarrity hit 0-6 for Rock in their Junior Championship victory.


Rock 3-9

Brocagh 1-13

Rock’s championship experience proved crucial at Stewartstown on Thursday evening as they negotiated a tricky Junior Quarter final examination from Brocagh.

The Emmet’s looked set to batter Rock into submission during a dominant opening salvo that saw them ease 1-3 to no score clear after just eight minutes.

Ciaran Campbell opened the scoring before playmaker supreme Ciaran Donnelly won and converted a 4th minute penalty as Brocagh defied their underdogs tag.

Donnelly added a free and when defender Chris Beck surged forward to point they led by six against a Rock team still to make a meaningful foray into opposition territory. That all changed on nine minutes when Conor McCreesh gathered a long delivery and used his strength to guide home a much needed goal.

Aidan McGarrity landed a point but it was Brocagh who were bossing the exchanges and points from Patrick Canavan, Eugene Ryan and Cathal Donnelly saw them restoring their six point lead, 1-7 to 1-1 after 20 minutes.

Rock though finished the half strongly with McCreesh breaking a high ball in down for Padraig Ward to goal on 24 minutes. McGarrity and Cathal Donnelly traded points before a goalkeeping error allowed McCreesh to fire home an injury time goal for a 3-3 to 1-8 first time lead for the favourites.

Rock were never headed again as Eamon Ward, McGarrity (3) and Cathal McWilliams raised white flags on the resumption.

Defender Owen Canavan supplied Brocagh’s only score of the half on 40 minutes and even though the impressive Ciaran Donnelly converted a number of frees for a 1-6 contribution, Brocagh were labouring to breach a disciplined defensive screen.

Repeatedly turned over in the tackle Brocagh faded out of the match with Rock substitute Ciaran Gourley registering the final score when Brocagh goalkeeper Peter Maguire allowed his booming delivery to bounce over the bar.

Rock had Enda McWilliams black carded in stoppage time but by then the St Patrick’s were already looking forward to the semi-finals.

Brocagh scorers: Ciaran Donnelly 1-6, Cathal Donnelly 0-2, Ciaran Campbell 0-1, Chris Beck 0-1, Eugene Ryan 0-1, Patrick Canavan 0-1, Owen Canavan 0-1

Rock scorers: Aidan McGarrity 0-6, Conor McCreesh 2-0, Padraig Ward 1-0, Eamon Ward 0-1, Cathal McWilliams 0-1, Ciaran Gourley 0-1

Referee: Kieran Eannetta (Omagh).


Owen Roes 1-15, Drumragh 0-10

Tyrone star Cathal McShane delivered an exhibition of scoring power at Carrickmore on Saturday as Owen Roes booked their ticket into the semi-finals at the expense of Drumragh.

McShane was in scintillating form as he contributed 0-9 but the Leckpatrick men were forced to dig deep before eventually coming to terms with a spirited Drumragh.

The Sarsfield’s enjoyed the best of the early skirmishes as goalkeeper James Colgan steered over a free before Shane Cleary split the uprights twice for a 3-0 advantage.

Owen Roes opened their account on 11 minutes courtesy of Michael Dooher and even though Tommy Mullin restored the three point margin, Owen Roes were gaining a foothold. Two McShane points trimmed the gap and after defender Sean McBride levelled the argument for the first of three occasions in the half, Tony Devine edged Owen Roes into a first time 0-5 to 0-4 lead.

Conor O’Neill stretched the lead only for two Shane Cleary points to restore parity again and even though Cleary added his fifth of the afternoon, three more from the boot of McShane sent the North Tyrone men into the break enjoying a 0-9 to 0-7 interval lead.

Owen Roes continued to dictate proceedings against the elements on the turnaround as McShane (2) and goalkeeper Andy Devine pushed them five points clear.

Drumragh were wobbling and their problems were illustrated when McShane punished a poor kick-out with a point for a 0-13 to 0-7 advantage.

Ryan McAleer joined the scoring action before Drumragh mounted a brief recovery via points from Tommy Murphy and Tommy Mullin.

The decisive moment arrived soon after as Seamus Dooher found the rigging at the second time of asking after his initial effort was brilliantly charged down in a congested area.

McShane’s ninth point iced the Owen Roes performance with Drumragh managing the final score of the match, when Paul Maguire’s injury time effort was guided over.

Owen Roes worthy eight point winners as they set up a semi-final joust with Rock next weekend.

Owen Roes scorers: Cathal McShane 0-9, Seamus Dooher 1-0, Michael Dooher 0-1, Sean McBride 0-1, Conor O’Neill 0-1, Tony Devine 0-1, Andy Devine 0-1, Ryan McAleer 0-1

Drumragh scorers: Shane Cleary 0-5, Tommy Mullin 0-2, James Colgan 0-1, Tommy Murphy 0-1, Paul Maguire 0-1

Referee: Brian McCallion, Castlederg