Golf: Aughnacloy instal captain and vice-captain, as Andy Maxwell wins

Vice-captain Frank Caddoo with Aughnacloy captain Stephen Simpson
Vice-captain Frank Caddoo with Aughnacloy captain Stephen Simpson

At the Gents Annual General meeting of Aughnacloy Golf Club, retiring captain Peter Kilpatrick thanked members for their support during the year and announced that Aughnacloy man Stephen Simpson is Captain for 2016 – 2017.

Stephen thanked the outgoing captain for his work throughout the year and stated that he was delighted to be captain for the incoming year. Stephen then named his vice-captain as Frank Caddoo and presented him with his jacket. Frank made a fine introductory speech which was received with loud applause.

The captain then revealed that President David Cullen was remaining in post, the news received with applause.

Elected to council were: Secretary Sidney Houston, Treasurer Graeme Parr, Competition Secretary Tommy Strain, Greens Convenor Derek McClements; Members Sean Cunningham, Martin McKenna, David Trimble, Gordon Robinson, Evart Clarke, David Williamson.

Sympathy was extended to all members who had been bereaved during the year. In particular the death of ex-President Brian Lambert was remembered with great affection.

A competition for the new season programme was issued and the secretary thanked the sponsors for their much-appreciated support on an annual basis.

The first competition was on St Patrick’s Day and many turned out in traditional green to mark the occasion.

Winner: Andy Maxwell 21pts

Runner-up: Eric Jardine 20

Third: Gary Trotter 20

Nearest pin: Ciaran Holland

Longest drive: Andy Maxwell

Twos Sweep: Gerry McGrady and Ciaran Holland.

The Easter weekend competition is sponsored by Austin’s of Ballygawley, timesheets in operation.

Aughnacloy Golf Club continue to welcome new members at very competitive rates. Ring the secretary for a quote on 07785 987894.