Kelly beats Wallace to avert the dreaded whitewash

Ciaran Kelly and the man he defeated last week, Patrick Wallace
Ciaran Kelly and the man he defeated last week, Patrick Wallace

Gervins A still retain leadership of Division One, despite losing at home to Pot Black on Thursday night when Ciaran Kelly salvaged some pride for the Coalisland men with a big personal scalp.

The experienced Plater’s Hill man made good use of his 21 point start to defeat the Cookstown club talisman Patrick Wallace in a black ball finish.Kelly won the first with a 51 break, Wallace levelling with a 37 up to the pink in a scrappy second, Kelly pouncing in the third via a good pot on the concluding black after Wallace had narrowly missed a thin cut.

Seamus Nixon lost the first through an unlucky in-off on the brown but won the second before Mickey Quinn knocked in 30 and 44 in the decider.

Darren Gribben lost the first to Dermot Loughran who had a 39 early in the second before Gribben potted blue, pink and black, Loughran clinching victory with a superb green and frame ball brown.

Peter Reilly secured the third point, despite losing the first after a 37 break, winning the next two with lots to spare.

Mitchells A probably should have beaten Max Keady A, but it finished 2-2. Brian Milne blitzed Richie Comiskey with breaks of 61 and 50, Mark Nugent landed a 54 break in defeating a gritty Seamus Mitchell on a split decision, Feargal Keenan found his form with a vengeance as he had runs of 58 and 31 and restricted Barry Hughes to just 21 points in each frame, and Joe Loughran went down 2-1 to Sean Hoey who won a black ball second.

McVeighs A are still riding high in Division Two after a successful journey to the wilds of south Armagh, where they recorded a 3-1 victory over Max Keady B in a quality match.

Ryan Starkey, Rory Mallon and Terry Dunlop were winners as Mitchells INF outpointed Gervins B, for whom Daniel Nixon was the victor.

In Gortgonis, Mitchells B absolutely hammered McKees B, Owen McKee winning their only frame against Kevin Kelly, after Ryan Robinson beat Tyrone Whitehouse, Conor Gillespie defeated James Conway and Peter Loughran eased past Martin Doris.