Memorable landmark season for Dungannon hockey ladies

Ruth Montgomery, Georgina Mulligan and Caitlin Bain
Ruth Montgomery, Georgina Mulligan and Caitlin Bain

Dungannon Ladies finished their 40th anniversary season in style with awards hosted in the golf club, highlighting a landmark year for the hockey club.

Tributes were paid to all who contributed: umpires Jennifer Hobson, David Reid, Valarie Boyd; coaches Norman Purdy and David Reid; and ladies who supported all season and enabled them to turn out three teams each week.

Individual team awards were handed out by club president Jennifer Hobson:

Thirds: top scorer Gemma Rodgers, most improved player Maxine Davidson, player of season Elaine Junk and cup player of season Shirley Stafford

Seconds: top scorer Christine Kelly-Gayle Johnston, most improved Ellen Irwin, player of season Caitlin Bain, cup player of season Caitlin Bain

Firsts: top scorer : Stacey Lee, most improved Abigail Edwards, player of season Georgina Mulligan, cup player of season Karen Elliott; club personality of year: Vicki Kerr.

Congratulations were extended to Lynda Elliott and Stacey Lee, representing Junior Ulster in inter-pros in Cork May 8-10, members reminded of AGM in Rugby Club on Wednesday May 6 and It’s A Knockout on Saturday June 20.