Vocational titles for Ballygawley and Carrickmore

St.Ciaran’s Ballygawley, right, went one better than last year when they annexed the Tyrone U16 Vocational schools title at the expense of Holy Trinity Cookstown in heavy conditions at Clonmore on Friday afternoon, writes Kevin Kelly.

It was a keenly contested clash from start to finish and it took a fortuitous goal from midfielder Conor Mullin five minutes from time to seal the St.Ciaran’s win. The winners scored only twice in the first half but they still managed to lead at the short whistle. David Mulgrew and Christopher McNicholl had early points for Holy Trinity but then St.Ciaran’s full forward Nathan Grimes surged through to score a brilliant goal.

In the ninth minute the winners found the net again with Jody McGlone this time the finisher after fielding a high delivery in from Aghaloo club mate Mullin. They didn’t score for the remainder of the half as Holy Trinity trimmed the deficit to the minimum at halftime with points from Aidan Woods [2] and Mulgrew.

Within five minutes of the restart Holy Trinity had turned a one point deficit into a one point lead thanks to efforts from Woods and Mulgrew again. An Enda McGarrity free levelled matters before Grimes gave them a lead that they were never to lose. Grimes and Woods traded points before a McGlone free edged St.Ciarans two in front.

With five minutes left on the clock McGlone played the ball to Mullin whose shot for a point looped in over the head of Holy Trinity keeper Michael Donnelly for a crucial goal.

McGarrity and Mulgrew traded points from placed balls and, while McGarrity was sent off in injury time for a second yellow card offence, St.Ciaran’s still deservedly took the title and they now face reigning champions Virginia College Cavan in the Ulster quarter final.

St.Ciaran’s scorers – Nathan Grimes 1-2, Jody McGlone 1-1, Conor Mullin 1-0, Enda McGarrity 0-2

Holy Trinity scorers – Aidan Woods 0-4, David Mulgrew 0-4, Christopher McNicholl 0-1

Twenty minutes into the Tyrone U14 Final at Clonmore on Friday, it already looked to be all over bar the shouting with St.Ciaran’s Ballygawley holding a commanding thirteen point lead but Dean Maguirc Carrickmore staged an unbelievable comeback to take the title, writes Kevin Kelly.

St.Ciaran’s dominated early on with full forward Niall Molloy causing the Dean defence untold problems. He blasted in two superb individual goals with Pascal Donaghy and Darragh Canavan, son of Tyrone legend Peter, also finding the net as Darren McNelis got a couple of points.

Dean were struggling but a low finish to the bottom left corner of the net from their midfielder Ronan Lagan was followed by another major from Cathaoir Gallagher although St.Ciaran’s still led 4-5 to 2-2 at the break.

A Gallagher point reduced the deficit further but, when Molloy completed his hat-trick, eleven points separated the two sides. Amazingly though St.Ciaran’s failed to trouble the umpires in the remaining 25 minutes o as Dean Maguirc played outstanding football.

Ciaran Daly crossed the ball for Kevin Corcoran to palm to the net from close range before Daly landed a couple of superb points from long range frees. The momentum was now all with the Carrickmore lads and with the wind at their backs they pushed on.

Full forward Corcoran soccer styled the ball to the net before a Gallagher brace left it all square with ten minutes left on the clock.

There was only one more score, a major one with Daly blasting the ball to the roof of the net four minutes from time. Dean Maguirc had defender Matthew Donnelly late on but they still held on for a famous victory.

Dean Maguirc scorers – Kevin Corcoran 2-2, Cathaoir Gallagher 1-3, Ciaran Daly 1-2, Ronan Lagan 1-0, Sean Kerr 0-1

St.Ciaran’s scorers – Niall Molloy 3-0, Darragh Canavan 1-1, Pascal Donaghy 1-0, Darren McNelis 0-2, Aaron McAnenly 0-1, Niall Loughran 0-1